Best time to spray copper?

When is the best time to spray copper for:

Peaches
Apples
Plums
Cherry

There are so many different explanations I am a little unsure. I think the right answer for spring is right before the buds turn green/start sprouting leaves. Is this correct? If the buds are green do you harm them by spraying copper? If you do it earlier what do you lose? This is my first year spraying (other than for Japanese Beetles) so I am not confident in what I am doing.

I am interested in this question as well as I just planted a peach. But I am going to wait until after the holiday to call my county agriculture extension to see what they say.

1 Like

Our county AG Extension is not so hot when it comes to fruit …

1 Like

Also another question, is better to spray copper after you prune or before? If the copper does not hurt the fresh cuts I assume after.

I spray copper ( I use copper hydroxide) before or at bud break. You should prune your trees before spraying. Otherwise, it is wasteful to spray then remove limbs. It won’t hurt the exposed wood/cutting area.

Have you check out @scottfsmith’s Low Impact Spray thread. He suggests spraying stone fruit at pink, apples at tight cluster and pears at swollen. It probably the ideal stage but I am too lazy and try to spray all at once :smile:

Spraying copper after trees leaf out could cause phototoxicity especially spraying at full strength. You need to check the label.

I add sticker to it. Wait for a rain free day to spray.

5 Likes

Hi, I agree with Mamuang as to mixture. My schedule however, is three holidays. Thanksgiving, Valentines Day (after I prune in Feb.) and Easter. So easy to remember. Copper and a sticker! Works so well!

4 Likes

I’ve heard something similar, but in our area it is Thanksgiving, New year’s and Valentine’s day. Last few years, Valentine’s day was too late since spring sprung on us in January. This year, it looks to be on time!