Blackberries for zone 6

I have TC and PAF blackberries currently growing in my berry patch and was thinking about adding some Lochness and Arapaho next spring. Does anyone have a better suggestion on what I should plant here in zone 6? I am new to berry growing by the way and hope I added sufficient info? Thanks for all suggestions.

1 Like

Raspberries are hardier, do you have those already?

I just planted TC and PAF along with some others (Osage, Ouachita and Traveler) this year, so I am in the same boat as you.

I think TC is hardy to zone 5, the others to zone 6, so they probably will be OK, but I guess we’ll see after this winter. If you’re in mid or southern Illinois, that’ll prob be alright.

Arapaho I think is good in z6, and so should Loch Ness, it’s good to zone 5. @jtburton is in the Cincy area (same zone as us), maybe he could comment as he’s grown many varieties of berries.

1 Like

Yes I have some raspberries.

Triple Crown is cold hardy to about -5F and then it starts to get dieback. At -10F, the canes will die back to the ground. Loch Ness is very similar to Triple Crown (both semi-erect varieties) and is similar in cold hardiness. Temperature is only one factor in the hardiness…the amount of direct wind will also play a factor, because it will further remove the moisture from the plants and cause damage. The third part is ‘when’ your blackberry plant is exposed to the cold. If the plant is fully dormant, it is less likely to be damaged. Some blackberry plants have low chill hour requirements, and will sometimes come out of dormancy later in winter when your area receives a warm spell. Then it gets really cold again and the plant is not fully dormant and as a result gets damage. Sweetie Pie and Kiowa blackberry (and others) fall into this category…usually the early ripening varieties.

Osage and Ouachita (and probably Arapaho) are similar in cold hardiness to Triple Crown.

3 Likes