Blueberry: Does it need water or is it drowning?

After all of the rain ended and things heated up, a couple of my blueberries aren’t looking so good. Here is the worst one. What do you think?

Last rained 05/22 about .4"
2" in the last week
Soil seems moist
In ground 4 years
Last fertilized 04/17 with Coop poop and sulfur . 1 cup each
They was a hornet building a nest close to the bush. Could try do damage?
Normally I water then about every 3-4 days when it doesn’t rain.

1 Like

Don, I am no expert but that plant looks awfully small for a 4 yr old. If that is the case maybe something other than water is the problem. Pic a little farther away would help.

1 Like

Any herbicides been applied in the area? That resembles some of the herbicide damage/drift I’ve seen.

2 Likes

This is similar to my Southern HB Blueberries that I lost over the last 3 years. They seem to be very fussy with PH levels and I know I didn’t help them by watering them with hard, high PH city water. I have not had this issue with any of my Rabbiteyes. What type of Blueberries are they and where are you located at Don?

1 Like

Some of that damage is sun scald … no sun followed by too much sun. But they should have taken it better. They should have gotten lots of water in all the rain. You really should not need to water them at all unless its really dry, e.g. mid-August.

I agree with others that you should check the pH. Did you add a lot of peat or similar when planting? The soil type may also not be friendly for them.

2 Likes

No herbicides sprayed. The only thing sprayed recently would have been spinosad.

It’s a Jersey in Central Ohio.

I added peat and sulfur at planting and add 1 cup of sulfur a year. I throw pine needles around it for mulch but realize that probably doesn’t lower the ph.

Ph around here is pretty neutral naturally but I don’t know what the ph really is around the blueberry.