Building an Cherry fan

Greeting all, I am a newbie in northern NJ. I have been backyard gardening for several years and I added my first fruit trees last year. I started an espalier wall last year with trees from raintree and I wanted to add a cherry fan. Found out there pretty uncommon in the US so I decided to DIY. Yea! Sofar I ordered some Krymsk 5 rootsock from raintree. I plan to plant 1 or 2 in there final location and the others in pots. This is about as far as I have planed so far. If you where me what would you do next? Should I graft everything on to the rootstock or should I scion grafted to it first and continue to add verities as it grows larger? Or do you think it might be better too head the central leader when it reaches the desired height and chip graft onto it? Do trees lower branches move up as the tree grows significantly or do they stay relatively at the same height?

The branches will stay at the same height.

@appleseed70 @stan
What did your Krmsky 5 rootstock look like after a year in the ground?

These are my candidates, This is fully a work in process and any suggestions would be a great help.

Nice branching two bad it starts 4" off the ground

Looks Like I can train a new central leader on this one

will just have to wait and see what can become a new central leader

I just don’t know

I think I can see a good central leader growing. Does anyone know a good way to root that side branch.

3 Likes

I actually like low branching but it’s a personal preference. If it’s too low for you, it looks like the center, top branch could easily be pulled vertical for a new leader and you could just remove those bottom two branches. It looks like it already has shoots coming out that might make good lower scaffolds if the height is right for you.