Concrete remesh - durable and affordable trellising and deer fencing

Haven’t seen this stuff mentioned much, but it’s supremely useful in the garden for many purposes. Concrete remesh is available at most hardware stores for around $100 for a 5’x150’ roll. I’ve used it for vegetable trellising and deer fencing around individual trees. Some people use it for super tomato cages, as well.

1 roll made 9 deer fences for young trees.

Picture from spring, supported with conduit pipes this trellis is good for my vining crops.

17 Likes

What are the bird boxes? Bluebirds?

I have some tomato cages made out of it that someone was throwing about maybe 10 years ago…i took all of them and have used them every year.

2 Likes

I think tree swallows nest in them. I’m not a bird expert, but that’s what they look like. They already left for the year.

On the topic of birds, I’m going to built some purple martin houses this winter, hopefully some martins show up. If not, the local barn swallows can use them!

2 Likes

I’ve been using the 7 1/2’ X 20’ concrete mesh circled around for moose protection. Only getting about 6’ diameter, so limits the tree size, plus the moose will nip branches above the wire. Next year I will try throwing a couple pieces of conduit arched across the top with clear plastic to give rain shelter to some cherries. I don’t use any structure or support, although I stake the upwind side sometimes as a hard wind might tip it over.

2 Likes

How easy is it to work it? Cut it?

I’ve been looking for some more fencing for my growing trees. They are starting to extend out past their circular fence perimeters. I have them pretty tight to them, most are about 3-5 feet diameter in width, except for the bigger Lowe’s trees, which are about 5-7ft diameters. All of the fencing is 4ft tall.