Favorite soil amendments?

Always trying to figure out the best way to keep my farm boxes fertile. Do any of you use liquid mycorhizae or Azomite? If so what do you think? Also what other soil amendments do people here like to use in there gardens or trees. Can’t wait to hear. Thank you!

Drew

1 Like

I use mushroom compost and worm castings in the spring. I also add a lot of chopped leaves in the fall. I have no complains about the garden.

1 Like

Do tyou buy wc or make your own? Thank you!

I buy it. Unco Industries Wiggle Worm casting is the name of it. I have a smallish garden so a 30lbs bag is all I use for a season.

1 Like

I make my own compost from strait horse manure and use shredded leaves for mulch, so they get into the soil each year also.

3 Likes

Worm castings is what I have been adding for the last two years around my fruit trees.

1 Like

I do the same and also have cow manure too. I get the manure by the car hauler full. It looks a bit funny, and smells. The cow manure was sloppy. I was laughing at two little girls when I was at a red light in town they were plugging their noses while standing on the sidewalk. I vacuum my leaves in the fall and dump them over a hill in the back. After a couple years they turn into great leaf mold.

1 Like

if you just include amending (without weed suppression or mulch) after trying just about everything, I prefer buried logs. The simplicity and long term fertility improvements are quite obvious. And they work just as well for fruit trees or vegetables. And you can pull carrots and turnips out of beds with logs, without a problem.

1 Like

@wildscaper
It’s been a few years but I think this thread is worth reading through http://www.growingfruit.org/t/soil-secrets/203/10

2 Likes