Grafting for complete beginners?

Hello all
I have a peach and plum tree that didn’t make the winter, and I was advised to recycle the rootstock which did. I was told they’re both likely plum stock, and the vigorous growth looks identical. I have no idea how to do this, or where to start. I’d be happy with either peaches or plums. I imagine I could get required cuttings from the nursery.
So any Goofballs Guide to Grafting?

Get some pencil-thick Japanese plum scionwood (Methley, Santa Rosa, Superior, etc, or whatever variety the local farmers are growing) and do some simple cleft grafts on like-sized branches in the spring like those shown in this video from forum member Applenut:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=yNXDPVfJBW4

4 Likes

Great video Matt, thanks. Would grafting now (early summer) be out of the question for plum and peach?

If you have a sizeable understock, then there’s no harm in trying now (except risk of introducing disease through the cuts, so keep your knife sterilized with rubbing alcohol). If you fail, just prune out the losers and try again later (you can always try chip-budding plums in August).

The challenge now is the grafts can easily cook or dehydrate in super-hot sunshine, so wrap 'em close and tight. With that said, the grafts should get some sunshine. The understock needs to be high enough to be out of the weeds. The grafts should also be ensured apical dominance.

Another challenge is the trees have already had their initial flush of growth for the season. So you’ll want to make sure they are well-watered, and you might consider applying a liquid dillution fertilizer (with nitrogen) right after you place your grafts.

I hear peaches are more challenging than plums. I have had success grafting the latter, but have not yet tried grafting the former (partly out of intimidation). I’ll let other forum members speak to the question of peaches; I’m not an expert on that subject yet.

I have no doubt that day will come, Matt.

1 Like