Mulberry recommendations

I would like to plant a few mulberry trees and was hoping some of you brilliant people could give me variety recommendations. I live in zone 8a so I am able to grow all the different species.

Also, how difficult are mulberries to root from cuttings? I have a lot of experience rooting figs but have never tried anything else.

Thanks!

–Nate

Oracle, AZ zone 8a

I don’t have experience with varieties to suggest, though I’ve read good things about Pakistan. I think you’ll be fine growing it in your climate, it’s not too cold hardy.

As far as rooting, it seems to be variety (species/hybridization?) specific. Some root readily, others don’t. I was just emailing another forum user and he shared this me on his rooting success: “Kokuso No. 20 and Shangri La have rooted pretty easily. Illinois Everbearing I have had limited luck rooting, but a couple takes. Geraldi Dwarf I never got a cutting to take.”

Greetings:

I have a friend who grows mulberries in WI. I arrived when ripe so we tasted the different ones he had. I recall ‘Illinois’ was the sweetest out of what he was growing in WI. I was impressed with the flavor compared to the others he had.

IE is easily the most popular of the cold-hardy mulbs, and for good reason. Worth growing if you’re in a cold/foggy region and you’re fine with fast-growing and hefty trees.

Thanks for the info!

What about some of the white varieties?

Also, are the morus nigra varieties really better than the others as some claim?

i am one of those claimants. We’ve tried a dozen mulb varieties, and nigra’s are a distant michael jordan. A bonafide bombshell.

i wish it was more tolerant of colder, balmy regions. Almost rude/snobbish to bring it up with people who can’t grow it…
also wish could ship a few berries to people who’ve never tasted it.