Pink Lady Vigor?

Can anyone compare the vigor of Pink Lady against another common variety on the same rootstock in the same location?

ACN calls PL vigorous. I’m wondering how it would do on top worked B9 trees spaced 6 feet apart.

It should do well in that situation. I would call Pink Lady or any of the “sports” of it that I have grown to be above average in vigor.

Thanks for the reply Turkey Creek. Would you expect PL to be as vigorous as Fuji?

We are planing on converting a bunch of our mid season or bad varieties to something that is late and popular for Pick Your Own.

As much as I love PL, I have given up growing it. I have been diligent with the FB and copper spays and have had both of my PL trees die of FB. Hopefully you will be more successful.

I have no experience with Fuji so I cant be of help there. How about adding some Goldrush as well?

1 Like

Chris

Sorry to hear about FB on your PL. I have FB concerns too. I have some new PL on Geneva that have never bloomed so FB may be a problem for me too. I will have a better idea about the FB problem next year, but my mid season apples don’t sell well and I need to convert the trees to something that fruits in the fall when PYO apples are popular.

A large commercial grower in central Va that I spoke with last week indicated that his FB problem on PL was similar to Gala.

I have Goldrush and like them a lot but after a lot of rain they are splitting this year.

How does the vigor of PL compare to Goldrush in your area?

I’m stuck with a bunch of B9 trees which don’t grow well in my area spaced 6 feet apart, so I need something vigorous on top.

My new G11 and G41 trees will be larger after 2 years than most of my B9 trees after 6 years.

PL is more vigorous for me than Goldrush. How about Enterprise or Arkansas Black? Those are both as vigorous or more than PL for me.