Pollinating Pawpaw flowers

My pawpaw trees are small - planted in ground summer 2012 - and I am a novice pawpaw grower. But this is what I did.

Today I saw my NC-1 flowers were shedding pollen.

NC-1 is the largest, at 5 foot tall. I wanted to pollinate the flowers on this tree, but there were no pollen producing flowers when these were at the receptive stage.

I’m impressed with the amount of pollen. This seems like a lot more than other fruit trees produce.

I pollinated 2 flowers on my smaller, 3.5 foot tall Sunflower. I don’t know if, assuming the flowers pollinate, that could stunt the tree. I really want a taste of pawpaw this year.

I’m not 100% confident this flower is at the receptive stage. I can go back and re-pollinate them tomorrow. There is also still a small chance that a flower on Sunflower will be at pollen shedding stage when a couple of NC-1 flowers are receptive.

These are beautiful dark burgundy flowers. The color darkens even more, when they start shedding pollen.

There are a couple of flowers on NC-1 that might be in the receptive stage. So I used NC-1 to pollinate those too. That is not supposed to work, but maybe the tree has not read that book. Can’t hurt to try, I guess.

1 Like

I’ve been visiting a place at the University of Washington,in Seattle,the last few years,where some Pawpaw are growing.They were planted there by the present head of the horticulture department,about ten years ago.
My last trip there was Sunday and a botany professor was working in that area.He told me the land was going to be cleared and a building was going to be put there.There are a lot of plants and trees that will have to be moved or cut down.He was talking like they don’t have a plan for them yet.Along with the Pawpaw,there is a large Black Beauty Mulberry about 15-20 feet tall and also a few bee hives.It’d be kind of a shame to destroy these things.