Pomegranate not flowering?

So, my small Pom seedling for some reason has chosen to not push out any flowers/fruit this year, and I’m not quite sure why?

It’s a small tree, maybe 5’ but whispy. Last year it put out 10 or so flowers (which fell off). I thought this year it would have been at least equal, but this year just seems to be foliage and branch growth only. Normal?

I decided to do a good pruning last week since this year has turned out to be a dud.

3 Likes

did you have late frost this spring - after tree pushed out it’s leaves? here we had late frost which wilted the green leaves that pushed in early spring. afterwards, i noticed much less blooms push in mid-spring.

2 Likes

Actually not. We had a very wet cool spring, but no real frosts after the leaf out. It’s strange cause otherwise it’s growing nice and healthy and full. Just no blooms.

1 Like

I have no experience with Pom seedlings, but all my Poms (named varieties) had good bloom and fruit set this year.

Frankly, I would hate to waste orchard space and time on a Pom seedling of unknown quality when so many top quality cultivars are available. Some of my neighbors have Pom seedlings and most fruit from these that I tasted is inferior. I have rooted a bunch of cuttings from CRFG this year, multiple varieties, and will have extras if you want any.

2 Likes

Thanks Stan. I’d love if you could spare any. The one I have is a wonderful from DWN. It’s so odd because again, it’s full branching like crazy and looks healthy. If there’s no fruit set next year, out she goes.

1 Like

Sure, let’s get in touch when the planting season starts (November?).

2 Likes

Pomegranate seedlings can be very unreliable until they get big enough, thick enough. Is this tree in the ground? Some seedlings do not produce well until they are well established in the ground. Sometimes even cloned pomegranate bushes can refuse to produce.

1 Like