Ready to graft. . .I think? Still have a few questions and concerns!

This will be my first time grafting and despite reading a bunch and watching videos I still feel pretty uncertain about a few things.

I hope I will still have a decent chance of success on the ornamental pear tree I’m wanting to work over. It has leaves out about 1 inch or so in size – it exploded with the warm weather and rains we’ve been having here in VA. (And I was laboring under the impression I shouldn’t graft if there was any chance of the temp getting near to “freezing” as in 32 degrees., like a 34 degree temp one night. Now I know the term is used to mean colder and longer than that. oops.) I was wanting to cleft graft. . .is it too late for that and I should switch to bark graft instead?

The apple trees I’ll be working with are at green tip to half inch green and I think they should still be fine to cleft graft…

But I have a concern about my scionwood. This is my first time all around and I stored the scionwood with the ends wrapped in wet paper towel in a sealed plastic bag in an empty crisper drawer in my fridge. Only after doing that for a few weeks did I read about veggies being a danger (I knew about bananas and apples and I don’t store them in my fridge anyway). . .would having carrots and lettuce in a separate crisper bin be enough to hurt the scionwood? :confused: My more immediate concern is that I may have kept the wood TOO wet, as there is a fuzzy/moldy look to some of the apple buds. The pear looks ok to me anyway. Should scrap some of this before I start? (Pear on left and apple on right)

Is it ok to cut a 12 inch stick of scionwood into two? Will the 6 inches be enough (or too long?) All the videos I’ve seen only show a small stick of scionwood and don’t show if that is trimmed from one original piece or if it’s been cut in two. I only have 1 stick of scionwood of each variety I wanted to graft so I was hoping I could cut them in two.