Tall spindle pruning

Hello all, I did my pruning in late March on my tall spindle apples that r going into their second leaf but after doing some research on the subject it seems like I should have trimmed the laterals off. Can I prune now? Thanks.

If you pruned now, you may stimulate new growth, my suggestion would be to wait until around late June to prune or until next winter

I kinda figured that. I will wait I suppose.

I’m still learning even though it’s an easy pruning job. Two winters I pruned off the laterals and it seems I cut where there would be some spur growth. So I’m still a little confused about that.

I believe that when you prune laterals it would be clean off to wear it starts on the branch.

How far along are your trees now? Also depends on whether those laterals are shading other laterals. Upright or hanging are an immediate removal candidate in my book. Side laterals if they not shading anything else arent a big concern. Remember no branch is permanent in the tall spindle system so it will eventually be removed in its entirety at some point anyhow.

Tall spindle trees should require very little pruning unless the laterals are large in comparison to the leader (perhaps 50% or more), or are pointing straight up. Worst case you probably would not want to remove more than 2 of them. Cut at an angle and leave a stub to induce a new lateral to grow from the stub.

Training is a lot more important than pruning. Laterals should be tied down to a near horizontal position and the first few buds at the very top of leader should be rubbed off to reduce competition with the leader.

A few apples will help to pull the laterals down, but 10-15 apples is probably enough on a vigorous second year tree. Less apples if its not.