2020 Tomato Questions

I am growing some Heirlooms for the first time. And they are looking very strange. I picked a big Black Krim tonight and when I cut it open there was barely any ‘tomato’ inside. It seemed that the stem was so thick that it took up most of the tomato. The soft flesh and seeds were minimal, even though the tomato was huge.
Is this normal for a ‘beefsteak’ heirloom?
Some of my Boxcar Willies appear to be the same - huge stem which take over most of the interior.
I should have taken a picture - but I didn’t. This is the Black Krim before I cut into it.

It seems that the tomatoes that set early in the growth of the plants are this way . . . but later ones seem more normal looking. I believe that these are Virginia Sweets. (Below) I haven’t had one ripen yet - but I’m curious to slice one to see what its interior looks like. Same with Boxcar Willy and Stump of the World.

I grew some Early Girl, which I’ve never done before . . . and won’t do again! They are very prolific and pretty - but don’t have much taste.

I had some wilt or blight problems for awhile with the heirlooms, but that seems to have worked itself out. I think I’ll try some again next year. Not sure yet. Hope they taste better than Early Girl!

5 Likes

That’s about what the black Krim that I’ve grown have looked like. :slightly_smiling_face: they’re funky looking, and the earlier ones tend to be weirder shaped, often cat facing for me. I’d be interested to see the inside to have a better idea what you mean about the rest! Looks like you had a good haul there!

1 Like

We have not grown either of those varieties, yet we have grown plenty of heirloom tomatoes, many do look ugly compared to the hybrid tomatoes yet to me tomatoes are supposed to look ugly, unless they are grape, plum, pear, or cherry tomatoes, yet those photos and your description do make them sound too skimpy inside. Then again taste is what is most important.