Advice on best rootstock for zone 8B south Georgia

I am new to grafting… I have the supplies and have been reading and watching youtube videos. I have apples, pears, plums and pears planted so I should be able to get scions to use. My question is what rootstock is best for my zone…8B in south Georgia… I have wild plums around my field…I have a big plum that has been planted in my yard since 1981 and both have plenty of suckers… So i think i can use that for the plums… I also have a pear tree out at the barn that has been there for at least 75 year and there are 3 or 4 that have come up under it…I am gonna try using that for the pears…
What would be the best rootstock for my apples…I have plenty of room to plant so do not need the dwarfing ones that keep the tree small…
thanks for any help
tommyg

Greetings and welcome to the Forum. I’m also in 8B South Georgia{Brantley County}.

I’ve been researching Apple rootstock for here for a while. Here we have sandy loam .It would also help knowing the size of tree you want.

M111 is the ole gold standard and it does well here on sand. But it’s a tall tree and you have a while {7-10 yrs} to fruit.

I’ve read Bud B.9 and B.118 runt out in our summer heat a lot.

If you look around at Ag programs and heritage gardens around the South; Geneva G.202/G.210/G.214 are used a lot.

I have Polish P.1 but hope to get P.14 next year. They say for sand and heat; tree mass and root area matters. P.14 is pretty much the tops for big trunks on big roots other then some ultra rare german rootstocks. And P.14 gives plenty of growth for scions and does well in yields and size in various NC-140 tests.

Have not decided which; but this years rootstock will be either Bud.10 or P.2.

I like 35% of standard size trees.

2 Likes

Curious, do you mean P.18? P14 seems to be slightly larger than M26. seems strange to me that a tree with M26 size/vigor would grow a thicker trunk than a full size tree (MM111 or seedling)