Anyone know about safety of rodent-cides use in orchards/gardens

In an attempt to keep the gopher and vole populations in check I have been using various baits for many years. Mostly warfin-like anti-coagulants and some strychnine and zinc phosphide based ones. They seem to work fairly well in keeping these rodent populations under control, but my wife recently asked a good question, to what extent should we be worried about these poisons being taken up into the fruits and vegetables we are growing?

I have not seen any studies which address this. I am curious if anyone on the forum has seen any studies talk about this or know anything about this question.

Not an expert, but generally speaking plants are pretty picky about what chemicals they take up through their roots. So long as there’s no heavy metals I wouldn’t think to be concerned. But again, just speculating.

The plant won’t take up those chemicals until they are broken down by soil bacteria. At that point they won’t be a poison anymore.

Steve,

While we are on this topic, I was wondering how safe is Milorganite on fruits and veggies? The maker of Milorganite said it safe but I have read some where on GW that said never to use on fruits for some safety reasons. It sure make the grass real green for a long time but I had too many fruit trees on the lawn.

Tony

" Vegetables and Fruit test,
For decades, gardeners have reported that Milorganite has helped them to grow the biggest and tastiest tomatoes, the most succulent strawberries, and the crunchiest carrots. Milorganite can help you get the biggest haul of your favorite fruits and vegetables.

Milorganite’s slow-release organic nitrogen formula feeds plants evenly and gradually. This nurtures the roots, which in turn develop more robust stems and leaves. Other fertilizers force unnecessary top growth, which makes for skinny plants with reduced yields.