Apricot Limb wilting

Hello, I’m having a bit of an issue with my 2 year old apricot tree.

It’s very healthy otherwise but one of the limbs is wilting. There are no signs of disease or leaf curling or anything like that. The limb just looks like it would were I to cut it off and lay it on the ground in the sun—except in this case, it is on the tree! I cannot see any signs of girdling, either. The weather here has been above freezing/frost, so that is not it either.

What should I do? Not sure what’s going on, if I should cut things off, leave well enough alone, etc.

Any pics? Was it a graft? If it’s just one branch, maybe it just croaked over the winter. Other than that, I don’t know what it could be, but I’m far from an expert on such things.

Cut it off.

Dax

I had something very similar happen to some of my nanking cherries. The limb died, I’m with Dax, I would cut it off.

Check trunk bellow ground. I had similar issue and it ended up as crown rot. The tree died.

Ack! Isn’t that a disease that happens when your planting area is too wet? This is planted in one of the driest spots in my yard.

That exact same thing happened to a pluot I had. I should have cut off the limb. The whole tree died. I suspect it was a fungus that gets in and feeds on the xylem so no nutes get to the branch. It spread.
I believe that happens if there is damage to the limb - including a graft.

Mine was not in the wet spot as well, I guess it was soil that carried pathogen. I am not saying it is the same with your tree. But checking the trunk either rules it out, or confirms, and you will not have to wait months while it is slow dying .

There could be a canker you are not noticing, and all the wood beyond the canker is dying. Definitely cut it off since there is a good chance of disease.

1 Like

Thank you all for tour opinions. I did cut the limb off. I didn’t see anything suspicious (no dark spots, no ooze) so who knows?