Biologist looking to talk to growers!

Hey everyone! What a wonderful community.

My name is Tommy, I am a biologist stationed in Nova Scotia, Canada. My groups research is focussed on improving apples and apple trees for the fruit growing community. Our hopes are to help growers get varieties and sports that have improved traits - everything from disease to aesthetics! We love apple trees and we want to see them flourish.

I am hoping to do two things:

1. Find some cool new apple sports we can study! Do you have any interesting apple sports? Would you be willing to send us some tissue?

2. Talk to some commercial growers in the apple/fruit growing industry. I love the opportunity to pick some of the brains of real fruit growing pros!

If you think you could help me out with any of the above, please contact me at tom.davies@dal.ca.

Cheers,
Tommy

14 Likes

first of all welcome Tom. we are honored to have fruit breeders/ biologist amongst us. i personally grow several different fruit and cultivars from Kent Research Station in N.S and have a stepson that lives in Dartmouth. your providence is very beautiful. i live in n. Maine right across from Edmunston, N.B. i have several apple types i could send you from wild apples on old farmland around here but unfortunitly cant send them to Canada. there are quite a few Canadians on here that may be able to help you. speak with skillcut. he rings in on here once and awhile. he has a you tube channel. hes doing crosses all the time and has a few real good ones . his videos are worth watching. good luck with your search sir!

5 Likes

Cheers. Thanks Steve! Will do.

2 Likes

Welcome Tom. I hope you enjoy your time here. Lots of great people on this site.

3 Likes

Welcome Tommy. It’s always good to see someone doing research on our fruit growing passion. I’m located in the deep south and we need locally what you’re doing for your area.

1 Like