Bug ID

Hi,
I have a bunch of bugs that seem to be swarming together in my veggie garden- are these stink bugs and should I kill them?

Thanks!
-J

I’m no expert and not very good at looking at pictures, but my answer on that would be yes and yes.

The large ones, in particular, look like BMSB. The others are possibly different instars of the same. Took me awhile examining the photos, but I eventually saw the double banding in the antennae of some.

Big ID, Bug ID. You can edit your title if you want to change it.

My gut tells me to kill them, I just wanted to make sure.
Any idea why they are swarming together?

Squash bugs:
http://www.backyardnature.net/n/a/anasa.htm

I think Clint’s right that they look more like squash bugs than BMSB. Here’s a pic of stink bugs aggregating Like I said, I’m terrible at looking at things in pics, but you can compare the different pics to your bugs. I’m sure you’ll figure it out.

Squash bugs. Kill 'em.

Thanks for the input- consider them squashed !

Did they cause wilt on any of your plants or did you catch them in time? I just now read this and know how much damage they can do in just a couple of hours from experience,

They didn’t seem to do much damage. Most of the squash had already been harvested and the plants themselves seem to be dying back naturally, along with my pumpkins. Grew a giant pumpkin for the pumpkin regatta- yes, turning it into a boat and racing it across the harbor :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yep, the pumpkin regatta is a thing:

2 Likes

Great picture- I have been to the regatta the past three years in Wiscasset but this is the first year I’m entering.

How hard is it to grow a giant squash pumpkin? Do you have any extra seeds?