Building My Courage Should I do it? Budwood USDA

I have my apple rootstock G.202. Its in the ground. I have a grafting knife and tape. My plan is to order 4 budwood from USDA. The stock is all but dorment but I see all the nice healty green though the skin. I have never done this before and I am eager to get started but if its absolutly crazy to try to bud root stock with out even a year in the ground let me know and I will hold off for scions next year. Does it sound crazy to make the order and see what sort of leftover trees HomeDepot has when it ships.

Do it!!!

kiwi,

given my druthers (and since its my garden, I can have them) I would absolutely whip-and-tongue, cleft, or bark graft before budding. In that order.

That said, I did have some apples and plums I considered rare enough that I put both whips and chip buds on the same rootstock, with the buds being a quasi-insurance policy against a failed whip. The whips all took but the buds healed also, so it does support that there’s no reason you can’t bud on new rootstock at least…

If I were dead set on preserving a variety I would rind graft in a heartbeat if I had a big enough rootstock . In the long term rind graft may not be the best but it is a sure take if you have a nice fat rootstock.

Budding is simple and easy. Do it!!

1 Like

I am going to make the space for this tree some how. but I don’t have at all the space for 4 or 5.

Ok I pulled the trigger. I am doing this. I am not sure what I am going to receive if anything, budwood or scions next year. the GRIN search listed each entry as budwood but clicking the actual link list the disturbtion type as Scion.

1 Like

I say go for it, of course, but I don’t know when the repository ships. It seems likely to me that it may be too late for this year, so be prepared for that option!