Canning Lids Not Sealing

Looked but did not see this answered. My apologies if it is a repeat.

I am just learning to can. I tried jelly, jam, and preserved cherries.

The flavor, consistency, jelling are all great. However, about a third of the time the lids don’t seal.

The jars are new. No chips on rims.
I wash the lids before using but I dont boil them, per Ball instruction (I think)
I wipe the jar rims with with moist washcloth before putting on lid.
I measure the head space as exactly as I can.
I am using the hot pack method.
I follow the canning and cool down times exactly.
I fill water a bit more than 1 inch above lids.
I thought maybe they were too tight so I loosened slightly. Then none sealed and several lost volume.
Im not good at estimating “fingertip tight” so maybe that is it. I tried slightly tighter - last night made strawberry rhubarb jam, they all sealed. But same way this am, strawberry jam, none sealed.

Any thoughts?

Thanks wise and experienced people :grinning:

1 Like

Are you using Ball brand canning lids ?

I have not had one to fail yet and last fall I re-used some and they all sealed.

I am not sure what would make (lots) not seal. I have heard that some off brand lids do not work so well.

Good Luck

TNHunter

1 Like

Try to tighten the ring after you take it out of hot water, it usually get loose in water bath. Use silicone gloves to hold both jar and ring. Do not take the ring off until next morning.The idea of sealing is simple. Make sure it is tight first. If it is not tight the lid will be pushed up by the pressure of hot air inside the jar and will make it not airtight. When your content is hot and ring is tight the air can’t escape or come into the jar, so when it cools the pressure inside the jar goes down below your room pressure and now you can take off the ring, the negative pressure will hold the lid in place.

6 Likes