CAR Spray Timing

I started spraying Immunox plus sticker at the end of March when I saw the orange galls open on the Red Cedars. I sprayed all of my apples and pears. They ranged from silver to 1/2. So far I have sprayed on a 7 day schedule, and have sprayed 3 times. And plan on continuing until I no longer see galls or the end of may which will me the max according to label. But I have also read, spraying for CAR is not needed until blooms begin to swell (pink). Am I over doing it? We are surrounded by cedars and it is always a bit humid. Last year most of my apples were hit hard and most defoliated. I don’t want to spray any more than needed due to safety, but have 30+ apples and 10 pears. I’m new to this and it’s my second year growing fruit.

Cornell suggested spraying from tight clusters until 2 week after petal fall.

https://cpb-us-e1.wpmucdn.com/blogs.cornell.edu/dist/0/7265/files/2016/12/chapter8-1unp92g.pdf.

Most literature suggests removing the host trees (if possible) or plant disease resistant varieties. Otherwise, it will be an uphill battle for you every year.

I sprayed Immunox on Goldrush last year at petal fall and ten days later. Worked well, no rust. Can’t remember if I used a sticker.

The arborist here says they ignore the state of the bloom and base their spray entirely on the cedar galls.

Which I bet will be popping here now that we’ve had 1/2 inch of rain.

1 Like

I started spraying as soon as I saw the galls and was planning on spraying until I no longer saw them. Just don’t want to overdo it with the chemicals.

Where I’m at in Virginia I’m surrounded by pasture that has tons of cedars on the properties. I have many on my own property as well. No way to remove all the hosts. Tons of orchards in the area that grow susceptible varieties, so I’m guessing I will just have to spray like them. Just don’t want to overdo it. Do not know of any organic apple growers in the area.