Check out my crotch angle!

I imagine that a branch growing downward is not going to be very stable. This is an arctic rose nectarine if memory serves me well. Thoughts? Keeping it for the moment as it looks to be bearing.

6 Likes

sexy…

3 Likes

I doubt any fruit will develop on it at such a young age, but I don’t understand your question about the crotch angle. The branch will develop from the vigorous shoot attached to the trunk, the flower is on last years shoot but I don’t even see the signs of any vital leaf buds to support it or the fruit.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply Alan!
My question was whether or not a downward facing branch or shoot is viable or whether it will be unable to support weight in the future.
I’m new to this and realize that I presented this question in an uncouth manner. But I read that horizontal branching is desired and many ppl weigh their branches down or tie them to achieve that. Should I just snip this branch/shoot?

There are no hard rules and species and varieties vary, as well as techniques. I’ve seen pruning guides about apples suggesting that training branches below horizontal is a disaster and yet the French Axe is a training technique widely used that pulls bearing shoots below horizontal, but they tend to be supported on a trellis.

However, with peach trees the goal is to establish usually 3 scaffold branches that become your source for a yearly supply of nice upright shoots, moderately vigorous, to hold your crop. All fruit comes from last years growth (all leaves too, actually). I’m sure you can find a guide on how to train peach trees to form a goblet if branching starts low or a shallow bowl if it starts high to allow for squirrel and coon baffles or to keep above deer.