Fig scratch test

Planted some 1-2 inch caliper fig trees last October. Brown Turkey and Olympian. I did scratch test on BT today and didn’t get any nice green underneath bark until about 2 inches from the ground. The Olympian I didn’t get any green anywhere. Both figs are about two feet tall. Should I trim them 1-2 inches from the ground? Also, is this normal for figs? Are they a “die back” and return type tree? Tx

Unfortunately in the TN/KY area that’s pretty normal. They will sprout back but it remains to be seen if the BT will produce fruit. I know Olympian won’t when frozen back. There are better choices than the later for areas with winter damage. You can cut back now or wait until they start to grow. Sometimes it’s hard to tell just how far back they are damaged.

1 Like

Thanks so much for the feedback. :slight_smile:

As a fellow TN/KY resident, I can tell you that @fruitnut has once again given you good advice. I’ve had other less hardy figs die back to the ground, but so far they’ve always sprouted back up and it doesn’t seem to matter if you cut the dead stuff away or not. MY BT are considerably hardier and usually only loose the top foot or so. I use the scratch test to try to find the top of the live tissue and cut the dead away, but honestly it doesn’t seem to make much difference to the plant. New growth usually comes from the highest “bud” on the SIDE of the sticks anyway, so what is above doesn’t matter- whether it is nothing or dead wood. I like to get the dead out for looks but as Steven said, its sort of hard to find. Another trick that will sound crazy until you try it is to either wet down the remaining fig or look at it after a rain. When wet you can pretty much see a green tint in the live portions and none in the dead.