First problems on mixed orchard

Late in November 2020 I’ve planted about 200 trees (1 & 2 y/o trees). 140+ cherry (early varieties), +/- 30 plums (late varieties) including pluots, 30 apricots (early varieties). Most cherry & apricot trees were 2 y/o.
I’m new to cherries, plums and apricots (I grow apple & pear)
–I’ve had multiple mouse and rabbit attacks. So far I’ve only used repellants (anti-rodent paint and many other methods n tricks that didn’t help much) so next time I’ve decided that the best way to protect young trees is mechanically (to wrap them around with a net or other material).

I’ve now decided to prune the trees because alot of them are still dormant for some reason.
IMG_20210505_175119_1
Besides watering, is there anything else I should do to maximize the trees survival?

Ouch, sorry to see all the damage others may have better ideas on effective ways to wrap them but I would atleast apply a moderate dose of nitrogen iron and kelp and any micronutrients you may be low on. If you have a mix I would go ahead and use that.

Maybe there is something you can do for the damage spray wise also and you may need to prune a lot of that damage out.

1 Like

You might be alright. I have seen my cherries recover from some pretty serious buck rubs. Corrugated pipe is pretty cheap. Just cut to size, cut length wise and slide over trunk. That will not do much for mice, but will protect you from larger animals.

1 Like

Some of those trees look like the buck rubbed all the way around. Those trees are not going to get any nutrients higher up, the top is all going to die. Hopefully they will sprout from above the graft. You need to get some deer fencing on those trees for next fall’s crop of bucks.

I lost an apple last fall due to deer rubs. I had taken the fencing off thinking the tree was big enough but I was a year or two early! It is sprouting right above the graft though so it will grow back in a few years.

5 Likes