Frankentree Questions

I found an older (Feb 2021) post with a lot of very good info - “Multi-variety or ‘frankentree’ planning.” - @franc1969 @oscar @marknmt @hambone - all contributed.

I had one question that I have not found the answer for . . .
If you have different varieties growing on a tree - does the rootstock influence when the different varieties ripen? . . . even tho they ‘naturally’ ripen at different times? Will they bloom ‘true to variety’ ie. early / mid season / late??? or will the rootstock have them blooming all more ‘together’? And same for ripening?

I am a newbie to all of this - and did a crummy job of planning ‘what variety to graft onto what’. I didn’t consider this my first time out . . . (among a few other important things!). Now I wonder if I should have kept all the early bloomers on one tree . . . and lates on another, etc.

I have noticed that some varieties seem to bloom a little later, but I haven’t tracked it and couldn’t tell you which one. As for ripening, they seem to follow script pretty well most years, i.e., my State Fair will always ripen first, my Cameos probably last, or at least late.

What fruit we talking about? I think it depends on the way you structured your frakentree. Example, imagine someone purchased a Liberty apple (late apple) on M26. They top work this to be their frakentree with Gala and Summer Rambo on top, early apples. This will behave different than an M26 that is grown out to 2-3 feet and then top worked to be Gala, Summer Rambo, Liberty. Or even a Summer Rambo on M26, then topworked to Gala and Liberty.

M26----> Liberty -----> other varieties
vs
M26----->Summer Rambo —> other varieties
vs
M26 ----> other scion

I think the general recommendation has been it’s better for early onto late is better than late onto early (if you’re looking for a more “normal schedule.” Someone can correct me if I am wrong, it’s been a while since I remember doing this.)