GMO chestnut

I saw a video clip about a modified American chestnut with a gene from wheat that makes chestnut blight harmless to the tree . They were seeking approval to do a large planting . Anyone else see this ?

There is a chestnut thread here where I think it is mentioned

No…but sounds interesting.

Alan talkes about it on the chestnuts a few questions thread on December 15. I can’t figure out how to make a link to it. I’m not very tech savvy

Here’s the best article I could find on it. Sounds like it isn’t a cure yet and won’t really be a cure until they can figure out the genes in the Asian chestnut that defend against blight and insert those into American chestnuts, but they are making progress on that front.

1 Like

What GMO should be about.

http://www.esf.edu/chestnut/genes.htm
the research

2 Likes

I was reading a little more about the USDA’s efforts to bring back the American Chestnut and came across this cool time-lapse video showing a few young trees and how different varieties react to blight.

3 Likes

Bumping this (should maybe have its own thread) but are the GMO nuts available yet?

Failing that, how true are Dunstan and other hybrids?

I’d really like to get some American Chestnut trees going around here, but true American, not squat, clearly Chinese hybrids…

What do you want the trees for - nuts or timber or landscaping or?

There is a GMO American chestnut that uses a wheat gene to provide blight resistance. It will probably get approved in the not too far distant future because basically most GMOs get approved. It’s actually a rather clean approach to dealing with blight but we simply have no way of knowing what other impact it will have on the tree and we won’t know for a very long time.

If they knew what genes were responsible for blight resistance in Chinese chestnut trees, they could use genetic engineering to place them in American trees but they have not identified those genes.