Got DIRT ? what you growing in

Dirt

We finally got enough dry sunny days for my flat garden to be dry enough for a first break.

I am sure that I am not the only one on this board that just loves the smell and look of fresh dirt.

I have been gardening this 10x40’ bed for 20 years now… I bet I have thrown a pickup bed full of rocks out of it and put 4 times that much homemade compost in over the years… I think it looks pretty good.

I used to garden 3 beds like this but the other 2 have been converted to permaculture, fruit trees, berry bushes. This is the only flat bed that I garden now, and grow mostly veggies in, including tomatoes, sweet corn, cukes, zukes, okra, green beans, cantaloupe, greens, carrots, etc… I stick to mostly low carb veggies now days, but my kids just have to have some sweet corn every year.

At the back end of the bed you can see my Cub Cadet rear tine tiller… it has been a good one so far.

Also a row of Ilinni Blackberries and some fruit trees. Lots of bud swelling here, but no blooms yet. Another week or two and my peaches will start blooming, especially if it stays warm and sunny like the last few days.

I will be starting some greens soon, leaf lettuce, spinach, beet greens, carrots… It will be the end of April before I can safely get tomatoes in the ground.
Zone 7a - Tennessee.

Broke your garden yet ?

I would love to see how your dirt looks, what you are growing in ?

TNHunter

8 Likes

I’m also 7a but a slightly chillier 7a in Maryland. Only the faintest hint of bud swelling on peaches yet.

Tomcot Apricot has some very slight scale separation. Planting peas tomorrow.

1 Like

BG my early elberta and reliance peach trees are normally blooming mid March. They normally both start just a few days apart… and we often get a hard enough frost after that to wipe them out. I get a crop of peaches about 50% of the time…