Grafting pawpaw to magnolia

Has anyone ever tried it? They are distantly related to the point where they can be mistaken from a distance until you look at the terminal buds.

I bring this up considering that stone fruit is generally compatible in some way. Apples, pears, hawthorn, serviceberry, aronia can be slapped together, even if for a short time.

I see some advantages to having a magnolia rootstock if it is feasible. I’m no expert on genetics, but after reading the description in The North American Pawpaw: Botany and Horticulture (Pomper & Layne 2005) there has been some debate over the years about some things.

1 Like

I understand the intellectual interest, but in the practical world - why?

1 Like

Well, a few things.

-magnolias get much bigger so could “un-dwarf” a naturally small tree

-magnolias may increase longevity of a grafted tree. Pawpaw is known to only last 15-20 years before the grafted portion needs top worked on a new sucker; This is the primary interest for me

-soil conditions might be better for some situations on a different rootstock just as is the case for many different apple rootstocks

-additionally, there is no standard rootstock for pawpaws. if magnolia could be propagated with desirable characteristics that could change the game

3 Likes

Doesn’t cost much to try! Why not just try if your thought train is so positive! Try it

I’m considering finding a tree to do just that, but I know we have some folks who have a lot of knowledge about genetics and others with much more grafting experience than I do.

1 Like

I’d be ecstatic if this were possible. I have a 40 foot magnolia in my front yard and think my neighbors would murder me if I chopped it down :laughing:, but a graft on the branches… I’d love to try.

I’ll give it a go once I have extra scion; my current pawpaws are 2 years from me feeling ok cutting them but I know a few people with mature trees and I can ask for some branches.