Growing media composition (Blueberries)

I would like to grow blueberries commercially in pots and outdoors without tunnels (in Turkey). For about a couple of weeks I am trying to gather information about an ideal composition of growing media. (with regard to both yield and cost).

Here are what I have found:

1. %45 perlite,%45 peat moss %10 pine bark as mulch (according to a peat moss supplier and blueberry grower in Turkey)
  2. %30 coco husk, %70 coco peat, particle size 8-12mm and 2-8mm respectively. (according to a coco peat supplier in Australia),
  3. %70 coco husk, %30 coco peat (according to a coco peat supplier in Europe)
  4. %40 untreated, raw peat moss, %40 coir (shredded coconut husk) % 20 perlite. And a handful of soil sulfur. (according to Colorado State University)

The formula of Colorado State University is also supported by a master thesis I studied.

What are your suggestions? did you have any bad experience with regard to a constituent?

Has anyone tried pumice instead of perlite?

What about the lifespan? Which one would need replacement or addition sooner?

Additionally, some claim coir has better air filled porosity…

What do you think?

1 Like

Those sound too expensive to me. I believe in much of the southeastern USA blueberries are grown in raised beds of sawdust or composted sawdust. The sawdust would be much cheaper if you are in an area with lumber mills. Or look for anything organic. Some other type of organic material that’s cheap.

Your mixes sound good for pots. But that sounds like an expensive way to grow blueberries. I grew blueberries in pots for about 10 yrs. It’s an awful lot of work and expense for what little you get. I remember up to 10 lbs per pot but it was usually less, sometimes way less and that was in a greenhouse.

2 Likes