Honeyberry chill hours

I read it takes 1000 chill hours for honeyberry. That was not from me. Look it up. If you find something different or have gotten fruit from these in Georgia let me know. I have no special knowledge.

Honeyberry are a native to places like the Siberia, Hokkaido, the Yukon – it’s a sub-arctic fruit. My understanding is that any attempt to grow them below roughly Z5 in the U.S. is a risky experiment. Before planting them here in Z6B RI, I read that it might be too hot for them here, mainly in July-August.

1 Like

Mine grow and fruit fine here in 6b Cincinnasti, Ohio

1 Like

I planted 6 different types this spring. They all started to look super ratty towards the end of the summer, but they are all bouncing back steadily now that its colder. I’m really hoping they put on a lot of growth next season. I have Aurora, Honey Bee, Boreal Beast, Blue Moon, Boreal Beauty, and Tundra. Tundra is the weakest perfoming of all of my varieties so far.

1 Like

Yes, mine have been fine here in ZB RI so far.

1 Like

from what ive read the more japanese in the cross, the better they tolerate heat. haskaps are still a fairly new fruit and most cultivars are released with out complete understanding of the plants growth parameters. they rely on feedback from us growers to fill in the blanks. and they are still making new crosses all the time so maybe in another 10 yrs. they will grow reliably in z7 by then. a fruit to watch in the future.

1 Like
alice gordon 11:17 AM (0 minutes ago)
Thank you!

Why don’t you try two different plants and see what happens? Who knows- you might end up with fruit. The Maxine Thompson varieties were developed in Corvallis OR (zone 8b) from Japanese stock and do just fine. I don’t think those chill hours are an exact number. You’ll definitely want to try a “late blooming” variety so there will be bugs flying around to pollinate the bushes.