Multigraft pears for fast fruiting

Last year I added a bunch of varieties onto my Red Anjou pear. To my suprise, most of them will be blooming this year from the terminal bud. I guess being kept horizontal encouraged flower formation! I won’t be surprised if I get more fruit from the grafts than the mother tree.

5 Likes

Nice pics. Do you ever have any trouble with weights hanging freely from the limbs? I’ve heard there is concern with them bouncing during windy conditions and potentially breaking the limb. Last year I pulled some branches down and was advised to tie them down to an anchor in the ground or to an underlying branch or scaffold if possible.

1 Like

I’ve been hanging rocks for a few years, haven’t had any trouble yet. I usually hang them in summer before the branches have really stiffened up.

2 Likes

Kelby,

Your tree doing workout. Looks good. LOL.

Tony

1 Like

Ampersand,

I think you have an un-eatable “stone crop”… :grin:

4 Likes

I am experiencing something similar on my multi graft pear. Are the pears you have blooming European or Asian?

There are both Euro and Asian grafted, but it seems like the Asians are blooming more than the Euros at this point.

1 Like

Top working rules! A friend told me I could save ten years(to harvest) by top working pears as opposed to bench grafting, growing out benchgrafts… also, asian pears are in general more precocious than European.

3 Likes

None of my European pears that I grafted last year are blooming but two of the Asian varieties are.

3 Likes