My apple rootstocks arrived, now what?

Time to panic :slight_smile: lol. I have two rootstocks and some scions, and I also have a 1 year old seedling that over-wintered outside that I’m also going to graft to. So 3 total grafts. Everything is still dormant. My main question is about the rootstocks. Any suggestions for a plan? I have the grafting materials. Should I graft the rootstocks and store them for a couple of weeks for callousing before potting? This is my first attempt at grafting so any suggestions are helpful. I’ve been watching a lot of videos. Thanks. Ed

If you have not already done it, my first suggestion would be to gather wood from other trees and practice until you are comfortable you can reproduce the cuts you will be using and also practice holding a graft together with tape, rubber bands, parafilm, or whatever else you plan to use. I would graft them and get them in pots without waiting. Keeping the roots moist at this point is a chore you will have to otherwise attend to and, once you graft, having the root system working to fuse the scion and understock can only help.

Good suggestion about the practice. I’m also more comfortable getting them in pots asap. That makes more sense to me. Luckily my rootstocks and scions are pretty long, so there’s lots to practice on.

I would suggest practicing on wood other than your rootstock and scion. Just about any deciduous tree should work for practicing making cuts and holding pieces together in a graft.