My orchard results from our -33F winter

Hello,

I am a novice hobby orchardist in zone 3b and I wanted to share with the community my results of how the trees I planted in 2018 did over our very cold winter, as it is hard to find much info on the internet about how different trees do in very cold winters.

My thermometer logged an overnight low of -33F here, and that day the 24 hour average temperature was actually -22F. I think we had a number of nights colder than -25F. This was somewhat colder than a typical winter here, but the more unusual thing is that when we were going through these very cold temperatures there was only a couple of inches of snow on the ground. I could actually see grass poking through the snow, which is very unusual (we made up for the lack of snow later!).

The cold plus the lack of snow, coupled with trees going through their first winter made me pretty nervous, but I’m pleased at what survived.

What survived after being planted in 2018 and seems to be doing well:

• Hazelnuts (Hybrid from Forest Ag)
  • Seaberries (from One Green World)
  • Serviceberries (Northline, Smokey, Thiessen)
  • Nanking cherries
  • Bush cherries (Juliet, Romeo, Carmine Jewel, Evans Bali)
  • Aronia (Nero, Viking, Autumn Magic)
  • Elderberry (Nova, York, Adams, Johns)
  • Apple – Antonovka rootstock planted for future grafting

What may be dead:

• Illinois Everbearing Mulberries. I planted two in 2018 and they grew really well last year, getting above 6 feet tall in one year. However, they haven’t leafed out, but I can see there are a few green leaves pushing out near the base of the tree so it’s not completely dead. These came from Stark Bros. Does anyone know if that could be a rootstock that is still alive or are these not grafted? Do you think the Mulberry could regrow or is it toast? I knew I was pushing zones a little with these but was curious.

What is dead: