My Violette du/de Bordeaux (not Negronne) is troubled

I’m in Zone 8
I have a Negronne (10 mo. old) and an Atreano (1 yr., 10 mo. old) that both seemed happy and healthy during the Summer and appear to be healthy though dormant now. My Violette dx Bordeaux (1 yr., 10 mo. old) looked pretty good the first Summer, then died back in the Winter. Last Summer it ‘came back’ but with just a little growth…some leaves on the original stem, 20" tall, plus a new shoot/sucker from the ground about 14" tall…nothing like the ‘comes back every year and grows 5 feet’ that I hear about. Anyway, it died back again.
I’m wondering if I should dig the whole thing up now and put it in a pot to bring inside during Winter, or pull up the shoot/sucker and maybe gets some roots with it and try to root it, or cut the main stalk and/or the shoot/sucker and try to graft it/them onto the other two fig trees (that are less than 3’ tall), or ?? I’m new to figs.

I have heard VdB is not a fan of cold and won’t tolerate it like many other varieties. I’d dig it up and grow it in a pot.

We had a very mild winter and my VdB took damage to the tips. This variety is not as cold hardy as I had read and I expect to have die back on cold winter years. None of my other figs had any damage this year.

1 Like

How cold did you get? Last year we had consecutive freezing nights of 22F, 24F, and 28F and two of my three VdB in-ground plants died to the ground. The one that survived had more lignified growth than the others (for an unknown reason). In my experience, VdB is unable to ripen fruit when it suffers severe dieback, so my conclusion has been the same as the previous posters here… not a great choice for in-ground in zone 8.

2 Likes

Dig it up, I will. Officially I’m in an 8B zone but the weather has been wacky, and with most of the world experiencing record-high temps the PNW has been quite varied…even with a -1° F a couple Winters ago. Recently we were in the high teens.