Mystery Persimmon (best I've ever had)

I need some help identifying a Persimmon that I had years ago, but I don’t have any pictures so I’ll have to describe it. It’s without a doubt the best fruit I’ve ever had, easily the best Persimmon.

First, the backdrop. When I was a student at Clemson University I had the opportunity to try some fruits from their experimental fruit farm. The persimmons weren’t doing well at all; they had a handful of Asian varieties and a handful of American ones. The Asian ones were all many years old but shorter than me, scraggly, diseased and had maybe a dozen fruits, except ONE. One of them was about 20 feet tall, 15 feet broad, totally full of branches and leaves and fruits, it looked like a Christmas tree it was so full and robust. It was LOADED with fruits, hundreds definitely, maybe a thousand. They were ripe very early too, September, no frost for at least another month.