New apple & pecan hobby

Hello
I have a few acres near Chattanooga for a hobby farm. I currently have some 3-4 year old fruit trees (32 apples, 2 cherry, 6 peach)

I recently set a few pecan trees. Currently put in 7 Kanza, 2 stark surecrop, and 2 Starkling Hardy Giant. I’m new to pecans. Any suggestions on good scab resistant pollinators for the Kanza? I have been using starkbros for all my trees, but am open to other sources. I have not had good luck with the store bought trees. Had 2 die and a graft die on another (33% mortality on potted trees, but may be my fault?)

Added a pic below of the pecan field for reference
Thanks for any assistance

8 Likes

Welcome to this site. Looks like a great place you have there. I wish you good luck here this year and in the future. There are some good people here that can help you out. The one member I can think of that does nut trees is Dax. Look him up here and perhaps he can assist you with nut tree questions.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum, from NE Kentucky. Nice looking land, looks like the grass is starting to green up there. I tried planting 8 grafted bare root pecans three years ago, and all of them croaked, so I understand your pain.

Other persons to ask nut related questions would be Darrel (@Fusion_power) and (@Lucky_P) as well as Dax (@Barkslip).

What varieties of apples and peaches do you have? Have any of them fruited yet?

1 Like

Glad to see that you already have some deer protection in place. I have planted trees and returned the next day to cage them only to find all their terminal buds nipped off.

1 Like

The peaches are just some random seedlings from a friend’s yard. The parent tree was good, no idea what they will be. I got 2 peaches last year but the critters got them before me.

The apples are a mix of types. Last year was the first year with any fruit, but not many. Had best luck so far with blackberries and veggies

3 Likes