Not what I expected

I did some grafting Sunday. Yesterday I found this. Is parafilm supposed to break down like this? In one day?

Should last weeks - grafts I did the first week of May still have plenty of parafilm on them. Don’t know what caused yours to do that.

1 Like

It depends in the quality of parafilm you bought. Good one like Parafilm M does not break down easily even after good stretching.

I’ve been using Parafilm M when grafting for 25 years. But not JUST Parafilm (OK, I tried that once)… here in the hot sunny South, in late June… Yeah, what you got is exactly what I’d expect… it’ll crack right over the graft union.
Other forms of ‘Parafilm’… maybe they’re adequate for that - I tried the Parafilm grafting tape formulation one time, and hated it. Parafilm M is great for sealing in moisture… but has no inherent strength.
I place my grafts, wrap the union and scion, in its entirety - usually with at least two layers of fully-stretched Parafilm M; then, I usually overwrap the graft union with a layer of masking tape, then overwrap that with a #64 rubber band. The rubber bands will typically photodegrade over a few weeks’ time… I almost never need to cut them off. But… I did get a batch of rubber bands from WalMart, a couple of years ago, that degraded and fell off in about 2 days’ time in full sun…
If I feel like I need pressure for a longer period - like for nut tree grafts, I’ll overwrap my rubber band with masking tape, or, later in the season, cover the graft union with aluminum foil, knowing that I’ll need to come back and cut or remove those rubbers, as they’re ‘protected’ from UV radiation and won’t degrade quickly.

It’s been so hot (and dry!) for the past 2-3 weeks here, that I’ve despaired of doing any grafting.