Outskirts of Phoenix is seeing some crazy chill numbers this year

El Nino has brought Phoenix some really unique conditions this winter. Overcast conditions frequently in the last month and quite cold. Ive been monitoring chill on this property for the last 4 years and this year is going to be a whopper of a chill total The last 2 years have been rather warmer than usual.

Total for the 2014-2015 season:

Below 45 Model: 674 chill hours
Between 45 and 32 Model: 586 chill hours
Utah Model: 50 chill units
Positive Utah Model: 983 chill units
Dynamic Model: 17 chill portions

Total so far on the 2015-2016 season:

Below 45 Model: 506 chill hours
Between 45 and 32 Model: 413 chill hours
Utah Model: 267 chill units
Positive Utah Model: 583 chill units
Dynamic Model: 17 chill portions

Note that the models that deduct for temperatures above 65 degrees(utah and dynamic) have us at or above what we had last year total, and we still have 3 months of chill accumulation to go.

One of the issues we frequently have here in winter is that our humidity is so low that we can be in the 30-40’s at night yet swing up in the high 70’s during the day. Many believe that those high temperatures counteract any chill accumulated overnight, and from what ive seen they are quite right. Last year didnt look so bad if you look at the below 45 model or the between 45-32 model, but I can tell you that most all our trees that needed above 400 chill hours suffered typical symptoms of lack of chill.

From what I can see in my old neighborhood in Central Phoenix, 150 hours is more typical; as a kid, though, I remember Santa Rosa plum (300 hours) doing well.

Enjoy

Winter (El Nino) is Coming: