Peach Tree From Seed Leaf curl and weird shape

hey all
so i grew a few peach trees from seed, they were doing great until they got a little bigger and noticed the leaves are no longer long and healthy, they are curling and short stubby and round.
i did notice lots of little gnats flying around when i was growing these indoors, could they have gotten to the root and infected? i dont think these seeds were from an organic peach, but any help wold be appreciate it, i am still learning

Before I finished reading I thought to myself there’s not enough light for whatever it is he’s showing us he’s holding. Yeah, you gotta hang yellow, sticky insect traps, in-addition. I have them all over my basement cause I grow so much stuff.

Good luck. Get a stronger light or use the sun, my brother.

Dax

thannk you for the reply,so you think its light related and not sick due to root rot or pests?

At this time of year,Peach trees should be on their way to dormancy,turning color and going through abscisson.

but it seems as though it is struggling to grow and growing its leaves in weird shapes, does not look right

different angle

Could be something nutritional, I suppose.

As alluded to earlier, peach trees need to go through dormancy. All peaches have a chill requirement. This is not what’s going on right now, but it will affect the health of your seedling, if it doesn’t get some chill hours.

before planting the seeds, it was chilled in the fridge for over a month, my guess is the root system is botched or some other disease perhaps

The plant looks fairly young.Usually,they are at that stage in the Spring.
I’d slowly introduce some cold and being in zone 5,keep them in something like a garage,where the temps stay under 40F but not much below freezing.
Then,if growth resumes next year,hopefully the leaves will be typical.

1 Like