Planting Prunus Americana and American Persimmon

Hey everybody! I planted my first fruit trees this spring(Apple, Pear, Peach, Sour Cherry, and I seem to have caught the bug! All of the research I’ve done on my new obsession has lead me here, where I’ve been lurking for several months. I’ve already learned a ton from you guys! Thank you for creating such a comprehensive resource for fruit growing!

I am currently trying to put some planning into expanding my backyard orchard. I’d like to try and get some plums and American Persimmon planted next year. I do believe that I should be able to source some rootstock from the state game commission this winter(prunus americana and american persimmon). I am wondering if I should also try and source scion wood for the same time to attempt bench grafting, or if I would be better off just to plant and source scions for the following season. I’m very new to grafting, and although I’ve read a lot on the forum about grafting both plum and persimmon, wouldn’t mind any tips you might want to throw my way.

Also looking for insight into varieties that others in similar locations have experience with. I’m located in north central PA(zone 5b/6a). The idea in establishing my backyard orchard is to locate the more labor intensive crops closest to the house, and plant lower fuss options in a more permaculture style planting as I move further from the house. Are American Persimmons as low fuss as I’ve read? I am mostly interested in Prunus Americana hybrids for the plums. I’m really looking for a good compromise on flavor/variety/low fuss on those, productivity itself isn’t as big a concern for my backyard planting.

Thank you all again! This forum has already proven to be an invaluable resource, and I’m happy to be here!

2 Likes

Don’t American plums get brown rot, black knot, and devoured by plum curculio?

I’ve got no personal experience with them, hence me asking for more information. Do they?