Please offer advice for this apple tree

A really good friend of mine who knows of my passion for fruit growing has asked me for help with his apple tree. I told him I’m no expert but I sure know some people who are! I told him I’d upload a photo and ask for advice and then give him a link to this thread so he can read the comments himself. He’s a sharp guy is willing to do whatever you say-even if it means cutting it back to 3 foot tall! Its a 4 to 6 year old apple tree, barely blooms, and has never fruited. (he knows he needs a pollinator, so focus on pruning). The variety is unknown, but (obviously) its never been pruned in any way since he planted it 4-6 years ago. I’ve never seen an apple tree look like this…looks a lot more like a maple than apple! Anyway, what should he do?

EDIT: I apologize- it wasn’t until after I posted that I realized how little you can tell from the photo. Having not seen the tree in person, I mistakenly got the apple tree and the tall white tree behind it combined in my mind’s eye (which is why I said it looked more like a maple). You may see what I mean…following the trunk of the apple tree it lines up perfectly with the straight, tall, white tree behind it and I mistakenly thought at was all one tree. Point is, I now see that you very much need a closer photo to make any kind of meaningful recommendations. I was going to delete the whole post until I got a better photo but wasn’t sure how. Sorry…and thanks for any help you try (tried) to give. I’ll have him send a better photo asap.

Is it a seedling tree…it sure looks like it? You’re right it does blend in with what appears to be maybe a birch or sugar maple. The growth appears to be extremely vigorous. It needs pruned, it needs it’s vertical growth controlled, but if it is a seedling it just appears to me to be a healthy growing normal tree. Again, if it is a seedling, nothing so far looks or sounds out of the ordinary to me.