Roadside Dwarf Crabapple for Evaluation

Here’s a roadside crabapple I’ve been eyeing for a few years. It was clearly planted by a bird which had perched on the fence.

Why this specimen caught my eye:
*It is relatively mature, but has maintained a very compact size
*The trunk is very thick for its overall small size which could make it worth cloning to evaluate as a self supporting dwarf rootstock. However, its ability to ramify well at a small size could also make it popular for use in bonsai as a specialty use.
*It has a very attractive growth habit. There is no evidence that this tree has ever been pruned or chopped back in any way and yet it has an almost Christmas tree like form with a rigidly upright central trunk densely covered in thick horizontal branches; many of which emerge at a nearly 90° angle.
*Flower production is heavy

For scale the adjacent fence is about four feet tall. Fruit quality is as yet undetermined, but I do know it is certainly within the crabapple size range and not a standard size apple fruit.

What do you all think of this?

9 Likes

Yes, very nice shape, size and flowers. A good find. I would try to root some cuttings. Perfect if the fruit turns out to be edible.

My plan is that after the initial batch of grafts are established and then transitioned to their own roots they can be used to create stools for further “own-root” propagation. I’d love to send some of these around to others for evaluation both as a tree in its own right and to trial as rootstock.

4 Likes

Worth it to test if it roots directly from cuttings too though?

It’s really got a great structure, good find!

1 Like

It would make sense to test for rooting ability from cuttings. It wasn’t on my mind though since stooling works well for apples. For the time being I will proceed with scaling up clones from the scion I already grafted. I wanted to avoid cutting anything more than necessary from the ortet in order to preserve its untouched appearance.

1 Like