Soft white substance on new grafts after removing tape

First, I’m new here, so hi everyone :wave: and thanks for all the useful info I’ve found here in the past.

I’m also new to grafting. I grafted about four or five apple trees this spring (end of January), all of them onto resprouts from the roots of old trees that had died in a wildfire several years ago. Some of the scion wood was from old but healthy trees on a neighbouring property (unidentified but I liked the apples), some was from cuttings from young nursery-bought Royal Gala and Granny Smith trees. I did a few different types of grafts – whip and tongue, bark grafts, and cleft grafts. Based on info I found mostly on this forum, I used electrical tape for all the grafts. To my delight and amazement, every single one took, and they are all looking healthy with many new shoots and leaves.

So now we come to my issue (sorry for the verbosity). I’ve been unsure about removing the tape, having seen (possibly on this forum) that removing electrical tape in the spring can damage the bark, but I’ve also been worrying about leaving it on too long, particularly since the days are getting very hot here now.
I’ve also been noticing some quite large swelling under the tape on some of the trees, making me think maybe getting the tape off could be a good idea.
Today I noticed the tape starting to peel off one of the trees, and so I decided to gently remove it all. It came off without doing much damage, but underneath I found that the swelling I mentioned is a softish white substance which is forming all around the graft union.
I am hoping this is normal / part of the healing process of the tree, but it’s not something I’ve seen in any pictures of new grafts online. I may have peeled off a bit of very think skin/bark off with the tape from some areas, but definitely not from the whole thing.