Spring pruning

OK this is my first attempt to show some photos so bear with me.

I was thinning fruit today in my orchard and in the process I did some pruning to get lots of light on the spur wood when it still does some good as far as encouraging annual bearing. More light on the spur leaves should help keep their energy bank account full.

Unfortunately the photos do a poor job of really showing the trees, but they show something. I also threw in in a photo of a tree on one of the estates I manage of a crab being converted to a useful apple. After seeing it in bloom I think I will keep a fair amount of crab on it.

5 Likes

Alan,

Why do you “keep a fair amount of crab on it”? Because of its blooms color?

Being able to work outside, especially on a nice dry and warm day is a luxury! I would love to have that option.

Tom

Thanks Alan,
I like that the apple and crab blooms are on the same bloom schedule. Your orchard photos encourage me to prune more aggressively. My idea of thinning fruit was more along the lines of snipping flower clusters and vertical spurs and a follow-up on individual fruits. You probably thinned a lot of fruit just in the process of opening up the interior of the trees. Judging by the make-up of your woodpile, some big old wood removals have occurred as well. Are those mostly surface rocks in the photos or do they run deep? They don’t seem to be slowing down the trees. Or do they?
Art

AF, most of what I removed was on the big wood and didn’t contain spurs. I also rubbed off the beginnings of the annual water sprout barrage. I didn’t prune anything around the spur wood I’m keeping because I need it to feed the apples or to make replacement spurs. Unfortunately, the photos do a poor job of really showing the form of the trees.