Starting to think about next year's scion order

I’m beginning to think about ordering apple scions for next spring. Last year I ordered from Temperate Orchard Conservancy, but several of us who did that didn’t get what we had ordered due to various problems TOC was going through: Temperate Orchard Conservancy Scion Order.

I’m not sure whether I should try again from TOC this year, or wait until they are better established in their new location. I am fairly new to grafting, and the only other places I have obtained scion wood from are Masonville Orchards and local scion exchanges. I don’t want to use either of these two sources again. Can someone recommend a good source for apple scions that can ship fairly early in the year? Our apple trees are usually grafted in late February to mid-March in this area.

The varieties I am looking for are Calville Blanc for sure, then probably Granny Smith and Pink Pearl. I’m flexible on the varieties except for Calville Blanc.

1 Like

I’ve ordered quite a lot from Fedco. Last year the scions seemed slender but they all took. Ship mid March. Nice descriptions of their offerings.

Fedco scion.

I also ordered last year from Burnt Ridge. I think they were earlier than Fedco, this year. Some time in February.

Burnt Ridge scion

1 Like

I’ve ordered twice from Maple Valley Orchards many years ago and am happy with the quality of the scions. They were able to accommodate my request to ship earlier than their normal shipping window.

I also ordered fron Fruitwood Nursery last year. They have Granny Smith and Pink Pearl but not Calville blanc. At least it’s not listed on their website.
Their shipping window is quite wide.
I"m happy with the quality of the scions they sent.

2 Likes

I’ve had good luck with bighorsecreekfarm.com

Or you could ask on here. Many people trade scions, or are happy to send for the cost of shipping.

1 Like