Surrounded with Knowledge

Surround on Seckel

Surround on Chestnut Crab

I’m still learning how to best employ surround to stifle PC activity. This time around I put down Monterey Garden Spray, Insecticidal Soap (aphid/scale issues), Immunox, and Nufilm the day before spraying my Surround. The Surround I did in layers. The base included foliar feed which I have concerns about so hopefully that was not a wrong move. After that dried I went back with a heavier Surround only layer. The result…ghost trees and hopefully disgruntled curculio.

My PC pressure is very high so I am all for using the product but deciding how heavily is a grey area. How is everyone else using it? Are you going for ghosts each time or am I running things to heavily? I’d also like to continue foliar feeding due to my nutritionally deficient soil but I’m concerned that adding food to what is in essence mud may give fungal or bacterial issues a stronger foothold than they would get otherwise.

Bonus pc question: Does anyone know if milky spore might affect PC in addition to other grubs?

2 Likes

I have put several rounds of surround on this year and have seen no major diseases. My first spray was mixed at three cups per gallon along with an insecticide and antifungal. Subsequent sprays at two cups per gallon. I’m particularly pleased that there is practically no scab damage other than two trees. Despite their sprays Newtown Pippin and Virginia Gold have a pretty good case of scab. The other trees are thankfully clear.