Thread to track my BYOC project

This is a great forum, have been here a few months now… I love how everyone is so helpful, knowledgeable and passionate about growing fruits.

I demolished and rebuilt my house in 2015-2016. Started my home fruit orchard in Spring 2016. My entire garden is fruit trees (+ some lawn & roses I was forced to add for peace with the family :slight_smile: ) I have been tracking its progress on the DWN forum - http://www.davewilsonforums.com/index.php/showthread.php?t=12225. Many awesome folks on the DWN forum really helped start my orchard and I see many moved to this forum. Decided to continue my thread here starting 2018.

I am fairly new to growing fruit and have made every rookie mistake in the books. Have packed in 50+ trees in a 6000 sq.ft lot. Most trees are doing good despite me trying to kill them any and every way. Thank you for reading! Appreciate all feedback - positive/negative to make my orchard better!

6 Likes

Front Yard Layout Feb 2018

Backyard Layout Feb 2018

Side Yard

11 Likes

Very nice. Btw the parfianka pomfrom pics you shared were not ripe.

1 Like

No wonder they tasted worse than store bought!

Wait until the fruit swells, gets stretch marks, and begins to crack. For example:

4 Likes

Those look juicy!

Spring 2018 front yard pics

Papaya

Emerald Drop

Candy Heart Pluerry

Roses

Weeping Santa Rosa

Flavor King

Flavor Grenade and Supreme

Cambridge Gage, Purple Gage, Renee Claude Doree, Cloes Golden Drop

Chocolate and coffee cake persimmons

Burgundy, Satsuma, Mariposa, Elephant Heart

Cherries - Rainier Gisela5, Rainier New Root, Bing Gisela 3, Lapins New Root, Sandra Rose

22 Likes

Awesome! I like how everything is neatly laid out and groomed. Plus, your trees are very nicely shaped. Good job. You’ll be swimming in (more) fruit in no time.

3 Likes

You mulched inside the tree rings :face_with_raised_eyebrow: :smile:

Now pull the mulch away from the tree trunks. :wink: