Trees that refuse to lose leaves

I have noticed this in both states I’ve lived in - Ohio, and Maryland…

It’ll be around this time of year, when the vast majority of trees have either lost all of their leaves, are well on their way to doing so. But there’s that one tree sticking out that’s still almost completely green. And I’m not talking about trees that always stay green late, like sawtooth oak, but one where most specimens of its species are well on their way to dormancy, but this one is a hold out.

When I was a student at the University of Akron, there was an English Oak that stayed completely green well into December, and in that climate, most years the leaves ended up getting frozen in situ while still green, and then grudgingly dropping off by the new year. It seemed that temps below 20F were necessary to kill the leaves.

Here in MD, there is a Platanus that does the same, it’s still deep green when most others are bare, or at least brown/yellow. It usually holds out until early December as well unless a hard freeze does the job first.

2 Likes

We have a few trees that hold many of their leaves almost until new ones arrive (Water Oak). These make cleaning up the yard difficult.

It is an issue for me with apples, which when young and scab and CAR free will hold their leaves until we get 10 degrees. Usually we get wet snow immediately before that, so it always worries me that young branches will break under the load. Also with apples I have the hypothesis that abscission-related genes are poorly expressed in our cultivated varieties, as abscission of the fruit isn’t a very useful trait, so they hang to their leaves longer too.