Two trees, One Grow Bag

I just ordered two trees, one montmorency cherry and a carmine jewel bush cherry. They are both very small trees from Stark Bros. I’m in zone 6B. I have one 30 Gallon grow bag filled with potting soil. I am considering keeping them in the grow bag together until they go dormant in the fall, and then planting in the ground. In the meantime, I will keep the growbag on my deck with my tomatoes that are in growbags as well, and babying them through the summer.

Does anyone with more experience have any thoughts on this idea? Would it be better to just plant them in the ground when they arrive?

I have about 7 years experience with both trees. I do not have any experience with trees in grow bags. I can tell you that both trees are vigorous growers in my orchard. My Carmine Jewel is now about 7 years old. It is 7 feet tall and about 15 feet in diameter. It produces probably 25-30 gallons of cherries every year. It took two years in the ground for the first cherries to appear. The production has roughly doubled every year until last year, when I started to prune the bush down to contain the size. In my yard over the past 4 years, the tree has sent out countless suckers, easily 40-50 of them. I have dug them up and given them away to many people, after warning them in all CAPS that this plant will put off suckers like you have never seen. The cherries are simply wonderful tasting. You can make a great diversity of cherry things with them. Keeping the plant in a grow bag permanently might be an interesting way to stunt the growth. Montmorency cherries, in great contrast, form a single tree, grow at an expected pace, and are the standard in sour cherry flavor. Our tree is pruned yearly to stay about about 8 feet tall. It does not produce any suckers. The Montmorency cherries are only a true red on the outside of the cherry. The inside is a light yellowish transparent color. Carmine Jewel cherries are the deep carmine color clear through the cherry. We